“My Cousin…Buflan”

I had to renew my sister’s car registration the other day and that required a change of the licence plate .. now I don’t know how many of you had the pleasure of such experience but if you didn’t I’ll tease you a bit!

Upon your entrance you’ll be greeted by a multicultural crowd .. the rule is you have to pick yours.. being a Kuwaiti I must admit that you have a slight advantage .. being a Kuwaiti male takes you down a notch.. being a Kuwaiti following the rules puts you back at the bottom of the list..

One of the positive things I saw was the number counter in the ceiling which indicates that you have to get a number and wait in line..the problem was where should I get this number from .. after few Qs&As I was able to find the counter .. I waited in line only to find that the faces of the people in front of me keep changing but for some reason I am still standing in the same place!!!  

Being the smart person that I am .. I was able to figure out how to get in front of the line .. it was as simple as two magical words said in a proper accent: “My Cousin!” aka “Weld 3ami!” 

Now that I got my number 98 (current number at the time was 80-something) I found that the number counter was moving very slow .. 2 digits every 10 mins maybe?!  So I asked the guy why are the numbers moving slow and how come some people who I know were behind me already got their registration renewed? … “well Bro(not the cool ‘Bro’ though) they have the signature of the director” ..me:” and what makes it special to get that signature?” ..”you know!”.. me:”no I don’t” …  the guy in the other counter said that I asked too many questions :) .. I told him it’s because I want to get my paper and get outta here!

I won’t bore you with much of the details .. but the guy behind me was a Kuwaiti guy who belongs to the bottom of the list and he was speaking in Arabenglish … so my last words were “Allah E3eeenaah!”

3 responses

  1. You gotta admit, everything in K-town is overly “pleasat”. I’m sure deep down inside you enjoyed every second of waiting in that line ;p

    October 8, 2010 at 9:59 pm

  2. ma fhamt shloon y3ni? I speak arabenglish most of the time cuz I find it hard to speak arabic as well , it’s hard honeslty :(

    October 9, 2010 at 12:28 pm

  3. the 1 in farwaniya ? if yes then 9ij alaah y3eenik , ma2sat :/

    October 9, 2010 at 6:59 pm

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.