At a glance:Nepal 2010

So I’ve been meaning to write about my trip to Nepal but been so lazy … I find it hard to write a lengthy post my brain completely shuts down! 

Anywaaaays…..

Day1:

After a 3.5 hrs from Qatar (+ 1hr to Qatar + 3 hr in Qatar = 7.5hrs) I arrived in Kathmandu, Nepal … I got my visa from the airport upon arrival which was quick and easy … outside the airport the shuttle from Kathmandu guesthouse where I was staying was waiting for me (it took me few minutes to locate him from the crowd outside) …. Tip: arrange your transportation before getting out of the airport or you’ll be bombarded by Taxi drivers (most who may not be legitimate) .. 

My first impression of Nepal was … crazy driving! ( not to be mistaken with the crazy driving over here) …  along the way to Thamel (the touristic district in Kathmandu and where my hotel was) there were so many  poor people living along the road … I asked once about the poverty and it seems that many people come from the mountains for the City life and dreams … but most end up living in such situations …

since I posted about Kathmandu i will not post much here … we arrived at our hotel which was hidden behind the busy narrow streets of Thamel .. It was full of tourists and spring breakers… it was like a big party over there …I was too tired and hungry so I had a naan bread and coke I think and went to bed..

Day 2:

I met my guide Kosh early in the morning and headed to a local airport to fly to Lukla … 

Lukla (approx 2,600m) was the beginning of our trip… most people in this village like to hang around the airport to watch the planes take-off .. . we stopped at a local lodge to have our breakfast before we began our trek to Phakding..

Trekking to Phakding takes about 3hrs .. a moderate trek .. we passed few villages along the way and met very nice people … there was a mother and her kids that I stopped to take a photo of and they were very  nice to me … I had a cereal bar with me that i gave the kids and they were so excited…

The view along the way was mesmerizing … the weather was good too and we arrived  at Phakding in no time… Phakding is a small village and there were so many fellow hikers making their way to Everest..

We stayed at a local tea house and got a chance to relax.. have some food .. talk to strangers and head to bed fo an early day hike…  it was nice to stay at the tea house, its like a lodge where the owners live  in …

Day3:

We started this trek early in the morning after a good meal … we were heading to Namche bazaar the largest Everest settlement and it was the longest hike of this trip (8hrs) … This hike had so many steep uphill and few villages along the way … we passed by many beautiful views, river, and a waterfall … there were lots of some sort of prayer roll that you roll for good luck on the way …

This trek was by far the most workout I’ve done in years… narrow path shared by cattle, locals and hikers makes it friendlier… crossed high suspended bridges trying to fight the windy weather…  in this leg of the trek you get your first glimpse of Everest..

After 8 long hours ( oh yes I broke my foot half way through so i continued with some painkillers and a pole) we reached Namche Bazaar ….  I was in soo much pain that I had my dinner.. contacted my family (via facebook) and went to bed…

Day4:

I woke early still in pain … we were planing to hike up to the highest hotel but due to my injury we hiked up just few minutes to the Everest viewpoint … being there was amazing … I felt I was too close to one of the greatest creations yet so far …

After some meditation time … we hiked down to Namche Bazaar and I had a chance to walk through the shops in the village … it was an interesting uphill and downhill village … we then commenced our hike downhill (and uphill) to Phakding..

Day5:

This was the last day of the hike… we woke up a bit late since we had a short 3 hrs hike.. along the way it started to rain and I had nothing to wear against the rain … it was wet and cold … we stopped at a village along the way and I had to fish in my backpack for something that I can protect my camera with … well the rain slowed down eventually and we continues our trek to Lukla … In Lukla I had a quick walk around town but my foot gave up after a while … I had my last dinner in the beautiful mountains of  Nepal .. and said my last Good night!

Day6:

We flew back to Kathmandu and I made a promise (not in a binding way🙂 ) to come back and do the Everest base camp hike on my honeymoon ( wonder whoz the lucky lady🙂 )

9 responses

  1. wow! u went to nepal @@?! mashallah! i’d love to go to these kinds of places and just enjoy the discovery of such beauty🙂

    July 9, 2010 at 6:50 pm

  2. All I could say is Amazing!! you really helped me alot with this ,since my dream is to fly to Nepal to climb the Everest mountain”my wildest wish” and to volunteer of English teaching and orphanage which and I appreciate of sharing us the Nepal trip which I really really want to thank you😀 and wish you the best of luck and keep it up !

    July 10, 2010 at 12:13 am

  3. His

    That is nice.

    I like going places that not alot of people went too.

    July 10, 2010 at 3:43 am

  4. Thanks … there are so many comapnies that can arrange unique adventurous trips and volunteer too if you want to go fo a safer option..

    me too …There are soo many places I want to go to..

    July 10, 2010 at 9:34 am

  5. Nice post and great photos. Salamaat on the foot – hope it’s healing well.

    July 10, 2010 at 3:07 pm

    • Thanx … Allah esalmik … laa its almost perfect now🙂

      July 10, 2010 at 3:47 pm

  6. which I have been accepted to nepal volunteering * missing sentence* yeah I know! have you been to Kazakhstan?

    July 10, 2010 at 3:49 pm

  7. better luck then ^_^

    July 10, 2010 at 6:12 pm

Leave a Reply

