I am Human

On a particular slow day at work (which comes very often lately) and while I was isolated in my cubicle I overheard a conversation between a colleague (which I’ll call Khalid) and a visiting friend (which I’ll call Waleed) … here is my own version of that conversation:

Khalid: so how’s work?

Waleed: what work? I get paid not to work

Khalid: (laughs) did you talk to your boss?

Waleed: no one works over there they only give the people they want.. what should I do if they don’t give me work?

Khalid: but this makes your salary “haram” (unless someone can come up with a better translation: religiously forbidden)

Waleed: no I asked a religious scholar about it and he told me since  “neyetek” ( hmmm lets just say: you are willing to ) is to work then you salary is “halal” ( not forbidden … not to be confused with our version of kosher)

Me: @@ !

Now just to clarify something .. I am not an eavesdropper .. but this conversation found its way into my ears and kept me thinking .. when did we reach the point when a simple question of morality and ethics has to be answered by a “religious scholar”?!  If every simple thing about right and wrong has to be addressed to a “fellow human” who may have his own shares of mistakes then where is our conscious here?  what is the role of  this amazing creation of God we called “Brains”?! and what is the purpose of such creation if really only few people need it? and why should we even worry about making mistakes and being punished if we just could hire someone to make our decisions and suffer its consequences?!

Some may think that I am exaggerating with my thoughts here but I am not and this is a serious problem that we are driving ourselves deep in… it is a problem when the human heart and brain turns into that of a robot … when a woman sees a person in desperate need and had to make that call to the “religious scholar” if its halal to help him/her  or when a man needs someone to tell him  that accepting a monthly salary to stay at home is right or wrong … then yes i believe we may  have a problem here … but then again (on a more positive thought) every problem comes with a solution… what’s yours?

10 responses

  1. kalamek 9a7! we hv smth called a “brain” and i think by this age we can differentiate what’s right and what’s wrong! i don’t hv to ask sm1 to tell me this ok n this is not!

    if we continue on doing so, then what’s the use of our brain! In my opinion, that guy knows his salary is haram but he wanted to throw the blam on smbody else!

    July 17, 2010 at 11:13 am

  2. You could have screamed over your cubicle and told him to go and find some work before you kick his lazy A. ;P

    July 17, 2010 at 11:31 am

    • There is always work when you ask for it … even if its slow atleast show up and be there

      July 17, 2010 at 11:57 am

  3. oh That’s terrible, I find it very serious problem in that..

    July 17, 2010 at 6:06 pm

    • it is … when a person can’t make the simplest ethical decision … if you can stop people from thinking then u pretty much can control them … this is whats happening in here..

      July 17, 2010 at 6:17 pm

  4. truly fact buds. shkla hard to solve..

    July 18, 2010 at 8:54 pm

  5. One of the biggest problems with religious scholars is that they dish out conclusions, rather than encourage people to go through the reasoning process to determine what’s right and wrong by themselves.

    Another big problem with scholars is that they’re too afraid that people will make mistakes, so they prefer to do the thinking on other people’s behalf, while overlooking the dozens of mistakes they make!

    OK, I may not make the right decisions, but at least I’m learning from those decisions, which help me to refine my reasoning process.

    There’s absolutely no way of escaping it. If you’re a human being, you have to think on your own. Consider other people’s ideas, but you can’t neglect your own reasoning.

    If I was to sum up my “religion”, it would be:

    I do not feel obliged to believe that the same God who has endowed us with senses, reason, and intellect has intended us to forgo their use and by some other means to give us knowledge which we can attain by them.~ Galileo Galilei

    Hopefully I’ll be dealing with this topic in my new blog (still in its embryonic phase): Rational Islam.

    July 30, 2010 at 8:34 pm

    • I agree with you … God created us and gave us tools to use them … i took a trip to Nepal few months back and I realized how little we (here) use our bodies and mind and how great things we can accomplish if we used some of this amazing creation…

      July 30, 2010 at 10:01 pm

Leave a Reply

