Cinescape! No more

I promised myself that I won’t be a negative person which I knew was an unrealistic promise … honestly though, I am not a negative person even if I complain from time to time it is more to make a point .. . but I promised myself that I shouldn’t let things get to me because the only way I can succeed in my life is to let it go .. 

But! … every once in a while something happens (and at times its something so lame) that puts you in a bad mood that you carry it on for the rest of the day… this was one of those days to me (and it was one of those “lame” times)

I decided long time ago that I won’t go to the movie theatre in Kuwait because of all the censorship … and I didn’t except to watch kids movies like Shrek (which to my surprise was censored too!) …. but lately everyone was talking about this new movie “Inception” and my friend told me that only about 1min was cut from the movie … so I thought why not?! … my father likes to go to the movies with us and I thought that this would be a good movie to go with him …

Well since my mother and sister did not want to go we ended up going alone …just two “single” guys  at the movies! … the guy at the ticket counter asked me where I wanted to sit and I showed him where and this was the conversation (not exactly since  I have a short memory):

Ticket guy:  you can only have here (lower half of the seating chart)

Me: but I can’t see sitting here (true I have problems with my vision)

Ticket guy: this is for Bachelors

Me: My father is not a bachelor

Ticket guy: It’s for single

Me: he’s not single either.. he’s married with kids!

Ticket guy: but this is for family only

Me: me and my father are family!

Ticket guy: Sorry sir

Me: So what shall I do … I can’t see the movie ya3ni?! I am paying the same amount of money why don’t I have the right to sit where I want? or if you want to implement this segregation thing then at least be fair in the way you divide your seats!

Ticket guy: you can talk to the manager

At this point I almost made a decision not to see the movie but then I decided to talk to the manager… (the below conversation was in Arabic)

Manager: Can I help 

Me: I want to see this movie with my father and I have a vision problem so I can’t sit in front … and I can’t come any other day for a better seat because it will always be the same … me and my father are not “shabab” 

Manager: I know.. you and your father “on my eyes and head” but those are the rules..

Me: I know it’s not you … it’s those rules that are destroying our society (thought I’d get patriotic a little)

Me: I am a grown man with my father , who by the way is my family if you want to get technical …

Manager: you know there was a really old guy  (shayeb) once who we had to make an exception for to seat at the family section… that resulted in a man leaving with his wife and asking for their money back ..

Me: so it’s up to him if he decided to leave … he can stay at home if he wants  .. anyway I am not here to change the rules .. but I hope that you get to be fair in how you divide your seating charts … I am paying the same money 

Manager: Let me se what I can do

He got us two tickets in the family section at the corner … not what I wanted but I thought I’ll take them since I didn’t want to ruin my evening …I thanked him and made sure to say that this “thanks” was for your help only since I still believe those rules were unfair…

When I left the theatre I found a group of kids (no way exceeding 15 years of age) parking their car next to mine .. one was sitting on the hood of my car so I told him “merta7?” (relaxed?) … he smiled and got up … to be honest I didn’t mind my car … I was just bothered that those kids are running around driving cars at this age …plus this was the bad mood now getting bigger … when I got back home there was a car parked in front of our house which is becoming a habit these days … Now there isn’t a rule about this but I guess there is an ethical one … there should be a law allowing one car per (a given) square meter plus a mandatory garage for at least one car….our neighborhood is turning into a parking lot!

Well anyway .. I have two points here:

one… when you let bad things in society get into you and you become angry … then your entire day will go downhill from there … and know that at the end of the day the only person harmed is you … you ruined your day … it’s not worth it …if you want to be successful you have to let go .. don’t become the person you don’t want to be around..

two… I am not going to Cinescape anymore!

See … this turned out to be a positive post afterall🙂

15 responses

  1. e9ara7a hatha elli gam ma3a morta obo eta5alof elli fi! o hal ashkaal elli m5arbeeen 3al awadem! rayal shaiba ga3d yammek shelmoshkila y3ni! wen fe 7el yetmagal eb mortek eb ha’6alma @@>! shit!!!

    i also go to specific movies o im dying to watch Inception! how was it btw! write a post about for more positivity😉

    July 18, 2010 at 4:08 pm

    • Walla the movie is too complicated … but nice

      July 18, 2010 at 10:38 pm

  2. Hmmm , that’s just wrong , few months back I went with my sisters to avatar in 360 and the family seatings were full , so we went to the bachelors , they let us in without any fuss !!

    July 18, 2010 at 4:17 pm

  3. His

    So what is the alternative? wait for the DVD?😛

    July 18, 2010 at 4:18 pm

    • Actually am not into movies like I use to be … but if there’s a reaaaaly good movie I’ll jump on a flight to Dubai🙂 ( i go often for work there so I’ll just make my trips in time with a good movie)

      July 18, 2010 at 10:41 pm

  4. very nice article .. I loose my temper easily, and if I were you, would have had a fight with the kids. There is a famous principal by Steven Covey it’s called 90\10 which states that 10% of life is made up of what happens to you and 90% of life is decided by how you react.

    July 18, 2010 at 4:26 pm

    • I read about it … I do apply it at times walla …and it works

      July 18, 2010 at 10:42 pm

  5. I hear you man.
    http://www.welurk.com/?p=3837
    btw Inception is just BRILLIANT

    July 18, 2010 at 4:45 pm

  6. Go VIP and bring a girl😀

    July 18, 2010 at 8:26 pm

    • lool … u know in Saudia Arabia ( i heard this and it was on a tv show too) you can pay money for a woman to let you in the shopping mall since its family only …we used to laugh and feel sorry for them …didn’t know that soon we will be heading that way too..

      July 18, 2010 at 10:44 pm

  7. walla 7ala, I mean cinema is something cool place to lay back but here cinema LO3AA lil2saf ;/

    July 18, 2010 at 9:02 pm

    • I know … bas al7emdella 3ala kol 7al … when i remember Saudia Arabia I say atleast the people can go the movies in here ( not me … but atleast the others) …

      July 18, 2010 at 10:47 pm

  8. 97eee7,il7mdlla.

    July 18, 2010 at 11:28 pm

  9. it’s tooo bad i know, cinescape obu elna9b, elmovies ma tegdar tefham menha shay men eltennettef, bass the problem is that there is no more places to go in Kuwait cinema o resturants), o etha ma re7na ra7 natrek elmajaal 7ag elmetkhalfeen eysawoon elli yaboona fi elcinemas, add to the dislikes in the movie theaters, enna elmovie is for adults o etshoof elyahal tarseen elmokaan, khal yetsha6eroon 3alaihom mo 3ala elshabab o el3awayel……

    July 19, 2010 at 12:06 am

    • I agree … hatha ili yaboon ewasloona to get what they want … I know that banning cinemas is probably in their future plans … I saw the funniest (and sadest) thing on tv .. this guy traveling to an Asian country and was talking about the food their … and he said “pigs meat” and the Arabic translation was “la7am baqar” ?!?! WTH wesalna lai haldaraja men ilcensorship .. neth7ak 3ala 3gool lawadem … Allah gal latakloon ilkhanzeer mo tekrohoona wetkafroona o tkafroon esmah! … Allah yaster 3alaina

      July 19, 2010 at 8:40 am

Leave a Reply

