Living up to my Shadow

Losing weight has become an issue to me … the strangest thing is that I am an active person and I see myself doing things that fit “looking” people can’t do … I am not lazy!

I used to lead a very healthy lifestyle and was a very active  but ever since I came back to settle in K-town I started gaining weight like crazy! … I actually began to feel the extra pounds I am carrying now not to mention the back pain… and other pains

Now I don’t think that I am over weight ( am not sure though) but I am having a hard time getting back to my old shape and  lifestyle …I don’t want to play the blame game here … I admit that I am fully responsible for the daily food intake I got myself into … but how to get out?

Before heading to Nepal this April I lost about 10 kgs … after I came back I gained it back (this I’ll blame on my broken foot ..which still limits me from doing heavy foot works) …. This is a shout out for all nutritionists and healthy guys  out there … Can you help?!  

Please none of that starvation stuff … advises from food lovers only🙂

23 responses

  1. Swimming! half hour everyday will do the job, I did it when I twisted my ankle few months back.

    July 21, 2010 at 2:03 pm

    • I do go for swimming … bas its like a dodging game in the pool no one sticks to their lanes and its always crowded .. I love swimming though

      July 21, 2010 at 4:14 pm

  2. Ha, forgive me if I am too blunt! Well, you are aging at the same speed as anyone else. Sorry, me too. Well, I am a self-taught-nutrition. I really believe that exercise combined with low calorie works for me at least. I try to have 30 min. aerobics (tread mill or Jazzercise) to speed up the heart beat and sweat with 30 min. stretching (Yoga or swimming). Well, no one will look after your health, except yourself. Making a choice is the first step. It never gets easy, but the reward is great.

    July 21, 2010 at 3:19 pm

    • I know … ur 100%correct … but i am not a big fan of the gym except for swimming … i love to to outdoors stuff thats why it got difficult here … plus the food

      July 21, 2010 at 4:12 pm

      • True, outdoor here is kind of limited. Well, maybe we need to adjust what we have here. I did a lot of hiking, skiing, biking and jogging back in my country.:(

        July 21, 2010 at 8:47 pm

      • I know … the rockies were my home for a while too and i miss it😦

        July 21, 2010 at 9:37 pm

  3. its ok i used to weigh from 49 when originally was 40, now I weigh 43, even though i don’t travel alot like you do as in to the wild countries that have tasteless and strange food there while ours is heavy and lots of restaurant, I just avoid them because restaurants were actually gained me weight, so I tried exercising and do aerobics every morning and have a decent light breakfast and dinner, lunch has to be normal, if you like rice then eat white boiled rice with water without oil, we usually eat asian food at home, we don’t eat much arabic food so yeah mostly fish and white rice or chinese rice ^_^

    July 21, 2010 at 7:35 pm

    • for me its the SWEETS … and lately burgers🙂

      July 21, 2010 at 9:42 pm

    • Two thumbs up! I totally agree.

      July 22, 2010 at 7:11 am

  4. Swim since you love it and it won’t hurt your foot. Eat what you want but cut back and drink lots of water (without salt). Keep healthy snacks ready and available so you will avoid temptation. Try to skip eating late at night and never before bed. Or you can just fall in love and that will kill your appetite. 😀

    July 21, 2010 at 7:52 pm

    • hmmm in Kuwait love makes u gain lots of pounds🙂 …. I am doing the water drinkin lately …. am practically living in the bathrooms

      July 21, 2010 at 9:41 pm

  5. alban

    Well,as long as you live in Kuwait,I don’t think you could escape any of the food or restaurants in here.But the best thing to do is eating small portions of everything,well not exactly everything ;p
    And never skip practicing sport,I know that currently the atmosphere isn’t helpful for any kind of outdoor sport,but at least walk on the treadmill for 30-60 minutes everyday until both the weather and your feet get good and then you could go out to do some biking😀

    July 21, 2010 at 10:37 pm

    • Inshallah … my bike has been accumulating dust lately

      July 21, 2010 at 11:20 pm

  6. 3ady its kuwait , country of food , everywhere u go theres temptations .
    i eat a lot , like a LOT , but i never gain weight , maybe a couple n then lose em in a week , i never exercise , im too lazy for that but what i do is I ALWAYS use the stairs , everywhere i go , home , work , malls , u wont believe how much stairs can keep u in shape😀

    and if you are in sports , u can join the 3 club triathalon

    July 22, 2010 at 7:57 am

    • i actually contacted them before … I wanted to know if they have anything planned after Ramadan

      July 22, 2010 at 8:08 am

  7. I hate sweets as in cakes and burgers !!! you should avoid them immediately !!

    July 22, 2010 at 4:54 pm

  8. fine stay fat ;/ ;p

    July 22, 2010 at 9:32 pm

    • I remember this fridge magent from a friend that says ” I am not out of shape … I am a perfect circle” … hehe but am not a circle at all

      July 23, 2010 at 9:12 am

  9. I agree.. Swimming! Bite whoever is in your way.

    Nice pic.

    July 26, 2010 at 2:20 am

    • i do at times bump into people …:)

      July 26, 2010 at 8:14 am

  10. A site I found very useful is Mark’s Daily Apple.

    Mark Sisson advocates a low carb diet, which focuses primarily on reducing grain consumption. That can be quite difficult to do in Kuwait, but the results are beautiful, and you don’t have to do intensive exercises.

    But you can’t expect different results living the same lifestyle that got you the shape you’d like to adjust. You have to make changes. So what changes are you willing to make? That’ll determine the shapes you can work towards.🙂

    July 30, 2010 at 8:41 pm

    • I realize that it’s not about the food but life in general … food is just the method of escape … So inshalla am putting my life back on track (which is not that messed up anyway🙂 )

      July 30, 2010 at 10:03 pm

Leave a Reply

