Let’s Talk about Art:Baya Mahieddien

Everyday as I enter and exit the door to my bachelor crib (aka my bedroom) I pass by this painting that we had ever since I was a child … I’ve always enjoyed looking at it but never asked my mother (the person responsible for all the art work at home) about it until few years back when she told me that it’s  a painting she bought for artist Baya Mahieddien..

Baya Mahieddien ..is a self-taught Algerian born artist who was an illiterate orphan born in 1931 … what makes her work unique is how she creates her paintings through the imagination of a child … she impressed famous artists, like Picasso, in her exhibition at the age of sixteen…she died in 1998 … you can check her biography (in english) in this blog link.

Since my mother has been an art lover  back in the day I was inspired to give the art work around the house a look with a more artistic maturity …. I rediscovered the works of Iraqi Artist Wedad Orfalli ..Hassan Massoudi and Local artist Safwan AlAyoubi as if for the first time …then and there I appreciated having a mother who appreciated the arts to go the long length to get them…

8 responses

  1. Very Exquisite!!!

    July 22, 2010 at 1:58 pm

  2. it’s very creative that art mashalla , I love it

    July 22, 2010 at 4:58 pm

    • unfortunately as we grow up we lose the imagination of a child … only the lucky ones keep it

      July 22, 2010 at 7:46 pm

  3. true, so can I buy it from you?:Pp

    July 22, 2010 at 9:34 pm

  4. Hmm…one day I would like to research some of these and some of the music of Middle East…Thank you for sharing.

    July 22, 2010 at 10:29 pm

Leave a Reply

