Blast from OUR past

(photosource: unknown; This is not part of the family album that I unfortunately cannot share here)

This weekend I was hanging out with my family when my cousin arrived with a digital family album …My uncle has turned most of the family photos into one digital album which inspired me to do the same for my Mother and father (and us) family photos in our home library (a job that will take no less than a year if I can’t figure out a faster way) …. back to the photo album

It was great to see family photos that dates back to the 40s (maybe even earlier)+ …. I saw some photos of my grandparents in their youth … many of my uncles and aunts at different stages of their lives ..some of people that we are still blessed with their presence and others of those that left us a while ago ….. it was nice to see how our respected older family members were like when they were in our shoes ..

Something that I enjoyed about the photos was the composition … you can see how everything fits together within the frame … you can sense that capturing a photo at that time was an event that everyone dressed for (and I am not talking about studio shots here) … there were some quick snaps (the speed here relates to the period of the photo and not ours🙂 ) that I really liked and thinking of framing them as art…

Something else that I captured from the photos was the sense of an easier and friendlier times … people looked much classier yet simple in their appearance … the suits and dresses, hairdo and setting were almost like a scene from the old B&W Egyptian movies  …a more liberated period… a time that I would’ve loved to be part of …

If you have old photographs of your family then I suggest you transfer them into digital albums … If you don’t then take as much photos as you can today …. your kids would love to see them one day (when they transfer them to God knows what at the time) but am not sure if you would🙂

9 responses

  1. wow good for them that they kept it still unlike mine:(

    July 25, 2010 at 2:47 pm

  2. I love looking at old family albums!!🙂

    July 25, 2010 at 3:31 pm

  3. Me 3!
    I would love to know how to convert paper photos into digital ones. Would you share how to? We shipped half dozen big carton boxes of photo albums from our old home to here. We are really burdened on what we are going to do with them if we have to move again.
    Would love to see your family picures one day….

    July 25, 2010 at 8:47 pm

    • actually the only way i know is to scan them one by one … my friend tells me that there is a somewhat expensive scanner that can take a batch and scan them .. maybe the camera stores may do that service too … but for me i guess it’ll be the old scan one by one way …

      July 25, 2010 at 10:38 pm

      • 🙂 I am thrifty and I am retired and have nothing to do at home. 🙂 So I will scan them by myself one by one. But I heard that you still need a high quality scanner to scan them, even one by one. Thank you so much. I will look around and let you know if I found any more info.

        July 26, 2010 at 8:06 am

  4. I love this photo. I had it on my wall (I think I originally got it from a calendar) and it stayed with me all my 18 years out of Kuwait – wherever I went.

    July 26, 2010 at 2:17 am

    • yeah … i usually like to use my photos or in this case from my family’s album but u know i couldn’t do it for their privacy

      July 26, 2010 at 8:24 am

Leave a Reply

