Faces+Places: Alex & Pat

The thing about traveling as an explorer as opposed to a tourist … you get to meet different people some that leave a very bad impression and others that you learn from and will always remember … and this is just what Alex and Patricia did!

Alex and Pat were my hosting family in Nakuru, Kenya back in 2007 … It was my first experience not staying in a hotel or at a family’s home when traveling  and I was a little unsure about it …

Let me tell you about Alex and Pat … they are a local married couple who gave up their jobs and moved to London (not England’s city but the slum area of Nakuru) to start a centre that provides a shelter and education to the kids in the slums…They opened up their home in the slums to accommodate volunteers and visitors from all over the world who can help in one way or another to build, teach , and serve in the community …

I didn’t know what to expect when I arrived in Nakuru … I’ve never met people from Kenya before let alone live with one .. I met Alex first at the bus station after few hours ride from Nairobi  … he welcomed me warmly and seemed very cheerful and honestly interested to know about my country, my religion and my background … We drove just few minutes to their home  just at the corner of the hill that takes you to the waste dump … I met Pat with her two adorable kids and she seemed so nice and helped me settled into my room … 

After few days only I felt like am living at home … we meet at the breakfast/dinner table to have our home cooked meals … when I am bored or tired I can just throw myself on the couch and watch tv or just have a chat  or read in the garden …wait for turns to go to the bathroom ..

It was a new experience that I was very reserved to enjoy at first but quickly opened up to … although my time with them was just about two weeks they really made me welcomed in their home and into their family … they were very respectful of my religion and background … and we had some very good chats about that … They helped me see that with all our many differences that we share a lot of stuff in common … our daily lives and routines … they helped me see that no matter how the circumstances around you are you can be a very happy and optimistic person (something that I am still trying to learn day by day)…. although I think that I was a bit on the shy and quite side …. I hope that I left a good impression on them as they did to me …. Thanks Guys!

Alex and his little “precious” girl

Pat relaxing on the couch

the Ken man a football maniac

precious

Two very inspirational roommates

My bed

The backyard

The house

16 responses

  1. very , very nice article enjoyed reading it alot especially the great story about Alex & Pa

    August 1, 2010 at 5:28 pm

    • thanx … enjoyed writing it (sorta)

      August 1, 2010 at 5:50 pm

  2. You are really an incredible person. Loved the article and pics.

    August 1, 2010 at 7:04 pm

  3. A very humbling experience right?
    You should write a book about your travels. short books. call it Q8travelbud in……😉
    Love the post and the pictures.

    August 1, 2010 at 9:44 pm

    • an amazing experience … it will probably be a book with 99% photos and 1%writing

      August 1, 2010 at 11:33 pm

  4. superb, I really enjoyed it. Do you know what I like about these pics? It make me thankful for the life style I have. Thank you God.

    August 1, 2010 at 10:22 pm

    • It makes you appreciate life in general … we have so much but we don’t know how to be happy …

      August 1, 2010 at 11:31 pm

  5. VERY IMPRESSIVE good job Buds🙂 it reminds me of my trip back to 2005, and I really hope u keep doing it and they seem really warm Hearted ^_^ oh god take me there😦 God bless you and to alex and pat🙂

    August 1, 2010 at 10:52 pm

  6. It’s truly touching to see people live in such simple life who can provide such love.
    This really should be learned from.

    August 1, 2010 at 11:07 pm

  7. brownsuger

    Interesting, i did the same almost but in Japan were i stayed with a hosting family, Africa i never been there but really really want to go. I’ll ask you for detail some time later

    August 2, 2010 at 9:12 am

    • sure … and i’ll do the same since Japan has been on my mind for a looong time!

      August 2, 2010 at 10:04 am

  8. It is a completely different experience and I praise your method. Nice post.

    August 2, 2010 at 6:25 pm

Leave a Reply

