Remembering 02.08.1990

It’s this time of the year again when all the newspapers, blogs, and other media will take a moment to remember this day…There are many ways to remember this date (or any) … No matter how awful such experience brings (be it a day or years) I chose to bring back my positive memories:

This was the year of few firsts; the first time my older teenage sister travels solo, the first time my mother decides to have a Russian cultural trip with her friends and the first time we (in my life time) experience an occupation… 

I was a young boy at the time so many things did not sink in my head … I remember the day that my Mother was supposed to travel has changed into a day where my cousins who were sleeping over had to wakeup early and leave our house immediately… 

I did not grasp the fact that something was wrong maybe because at first my parents did not want us to realize it and so I got to celebrate my birthday which was few days after the occupation not really aware of the situation outside … However as days turned into weeks and weeks into the first months … My parents decided that we should leave because they couldn’t bear the thought that my sister was not with us!  but as soon as they made a small telephone trip to Iraq to call my sister everything changed …. My parents knew that she is now with my Aunt in England and that everything is okay … and they decided that we should stay here and hold into our grounds … 

I remember people coming back from their vacations … I remember an entire family living together … I remember the first time I got to interact with the neighborhood kids… I remember the ways we kept ourselves entertained … I remember the unity between people that we didn’t know … I remember the  tapes and letters that we received from our families from over the world .. I remember the stories my father told us at bedtime … I remember the first time my mother cut my hair along with a small piece of my ear … I remember the cnn video tape that my father hid under his shirt while biking between his aunt’s house and my aunt’s house …. I remember the midnight watch walk around the neighborhood … I remember the national songs that were distributed between people … I remember the new-born puppies … I remember distributing homegrown oranges and dates … I remember cleaning the streets .. I remember Liberation day when I’ve never experience such joy and such parade: foam free , “mghazal” free, accident free… just men and women, boys and girls , music and dancing on the streets …

This is what I remember or at least chose to remember …. a time when people came together (and I am not saying this as cliché but a fact that I got to realize just as a kid) … a time where there was a common hope …

So if there’s a way that we should remember this date … it is not the hate and pain … but the inspiration of one hope …  it’s not about you and me but about the best for this Land that we will soon leave behind for another generation … so why after 20 years now are we still suffering the consequences of this date… the loss of unity and the loss of a common goal? not mine not yours but Kuwait’s?

Update: Do you remember this song?

7 responses

  1. Pingback: Fresh From Twitter

  2. I still have my diary from that time ;p Allah la ye3ood hal ayam w ye7afeth deeratna🙂

    August 2, 2010 at 10:31 am

    • I have a short memory and I tend to forget a lot so things like photos and journals are very important to me

      August 2, 2010 at 11:13 am

  3. Thank you for sharing your story. I always wondered what it was like in Kuwait at that time. I’m afraid to ask.

    August 2, 2010 at 8:43 pm

  4. I thought it might be rude or inappropriate to ask. I don’t want to offend anyone.

    August 3, 2010 at 9:41 pm

Leave a Reply

