“Grads” this is my advice to you

A relative of mine contacted me to ask my advice whether to continue his studies in America or stay in Kuwait?! …. that must be a question that many recent graduates today are going through and I decided to give out a free  advice🙂

I remembered when I graduated from University I was asked this question by the National Union of Kuwaiti Students in America (NUKS): What is the one thing (or most important) that you learned in here and would like to bring it back to Kuwait?

The world around us has the good, the bad and the very ugly and its up to the person (and sometimes circumstances) to bring back what…. 

However, I believe that we are raised twice in our lives.. once by our parents and this is where we develop our morals and ethics (or mabadee’a) mostly and then when we become independent… this is when we get to truly know our selves and make our own choices some that are good and some the are bad … the more we see in life and the more people and culture we get to interact with the more we grow and culturally mature  … having the chance to learn about and experience  new cultures is a blessing that we should value … 

Academic education is only a minor part of what a person gains when he sets off to college abroad … It is the entire experience that parent often ship off their kids to get … Specially growing up here where life is relatively comfortable…  

Seeing foreigners in Kuwait that are part of an exchange program makes me very happy … they are also seeking the cultural experiences and not necessarily the quality of education …

So if its only the education you are looking for then you can stay in here since we have some good private universities … but if it’s a life changing experience you are looking after then pack your bags immediately (sidenote: a good uni also opens the possibility to work abroad and a better competition)

Now back to the question I’ve been asked by NUKS… there are so many things I’ve learned from my study in the USA.. but if I had to choose one it is that DREAMS have no limits … we can dream big  but we can only dream big when we strip ourselves away from the many restrictions placed on us (often by us) … sometimes we need to step out of our comfort zone to achieve them…” I can be whatever I set my mind to be” … this is the most valuable thing I’ve learned not as a theory but practice… and still learning every time I travel to new places.

11 responses

  1. good one

    August 5, 2010 at 6:38 pm

  2. Lovely post and so true!

    August 5, 2010 at 9:55 pm

    • I know … people need that push and am here to do it🙂

      August 6, 2010 at 9:26 am

  3. Lovely post and so true!!!!!!

    August 8, 2010 at 8:50 am

  4. YBT’ha 3la elwatar! I’m going through the same hassle now! I’m not sure if I should work or complete my higher level education! I mean I really want to complete my masters, not for the education purpose per se but, for the experience. I lack the experience in many things, and i’ve always wanted to be independent and experience more things in life, but since I’m a girl its been hard for my parents to agree on that matter, so now.. I’m working my way through it to convince them ;p Inshallah khair.

    Thanks for the gr8 post and advice😉

    August 9, 2010 at 9:35 am

    • it shouldn’t be hard inshallah … but if you want your argument to be strong then you should show them that you mean business! … contact the college you want and get your acceptance and then you’ll have a strong case to fight for …. g’luck

      August 9, 2010 at 2:43 pm

  5. Polar Panda

    Bravo!! Amazing insight. Thank you!

    August 9, 2010 at 5:51 pm

    • UW … I guess u found ur net connection over there🙂

      August 9, 2010 at 7:46 pm

  6. Polar Panda

    🙂 We were in the countryside for 5 days and there was no internet. Not even flushed toilets… 🙂

    August 19, 2010 at 5:01 pm

Leave a Reply

