A camping trip gone bad

My friends and I decided to go camping in Khasab, Oman …we spent over a week planning this trip … first the seven of us could not agree on a date then came the trip planning disagreements and it just got worse from there … so since I suggested the idea I said “Next weekend I am going camping, anyone interested let me know but I am going anyway and I am not postponing it!” … I almost regretted saying those words since I really did not want to go alone🙂 …. gladly five or six of my friends wanted to come … so we prepared a list of what we needed and by the following weekend we were ready to go … almost.. ” Hey MO, sorry I can’t make it” … “Hey, sorry but something came up and I can’t ..” …. 

Well the now three musketeers set off on their road trip from Dubai to Oman … Arriving few hours later to Khasab it felt like stepping onto a different planet (like a scene from planet Mars as my aunt puts it when she visited the place few years back) … it was very rocky and abandoned and lacked many colours … but against all those odds it was really a nice and relaxed place …

After touring around in our 4×4 .. we drove to the highest camping point to fix our tent before the sun sets … on the way up the mountain the road was very narrow and to be honest a bit scary … there were some abandoned houses along the way … when we reached to the top and pitched our tent .. it got really cold … we looked for the cooker to make some tea and coffee but to our surprise the gas we bought did not fit the head we got! … can’t have any food or drink and its friggin cold … we tried making a fire but it just wouldn’t last over 5 mins … there were some Brits (if am not mistaken) who were camping few meters from us and we asked them “hi … do you think you can help us fix this cooker?” … “Ahh … sorry guys you need another head” …. “we can’t cook our dinner or food and there’s no place around here at all that we can get something to eat😦 ” ….. “Ahh … am sorry … Good luck” ….”!!!”

Well we kinda thought maybe if we can get some sympathy and join them for dinner we can make it a night🙂 … but it didn’t work as you can see from the above conversation … after few hours of freezing … we decided its time to call it quits … we packed our gears and headed back … Driving back I must say was very scary … you can barely see ahead and occasionally you’ll be surprised by something that crosses in front of you unexpectedly … oh yeah and the occasional howls..

Well … although it was a camping gone bad experience .. we really did have fun! …. and the moral of the story : Pick your friends, plan your trip right, and even when everything goes bad just laugh and have fun!

12 responses

  1. wow I must admit that reading about your adevnture made me feel like am watching Nat Geo channel, I admire how you got the impulse & sense of adventure venturing across that rocky region🙂 also the geology students in faculty of science have trips to Oman to study rocks & minerals but its my 1st time to see it with such great shots🙂 thanks for sharing !!

    August 8, 2010 at 12:29 pm

    • thanks for that … I hope that my photoraphy skills keep improving for better shots

      August 8, 2010 at 1:01 pm

  2. All I can say is YOU ROCK! I’m too girlie for camping but you make me wanna do it. Your photographs are simply amazing.

    August 8, 2010 at 7:52 pm

  3. giggles

    mashala il ta9wer 3ajeb, would like to experience such adventure someday inshala

    August 9, 2010 at 9:35 am

  4. Polar Panda

    All camping experience is FUN! At least, there was no rain. There was no bears! Too bad the brits were kind of selfish!! 🙂 I would give some soup to exchange a story or a song! 🙂

    August 9, 2010 at 5:33 pm

    • I wish you were campin there that day🙂

      August 9, 2010 at 7:49 pm

  5. Polar Panda

    I wish too. Love camping. But we were told that non-Kuwaitis are not allowed to camp in Kuwait, is it true? If so, we’ll have a tent set up in our living room.🙂

    August 10, 2010 at 2:26 am

    • never heard that before … but unfortunately I myslef never been camping here … but during the winter season they start setting up tents in the desert where people can rent them for the weekend …. when that time come u’ll see a lot of “bedouin” tents for rent and i think its open for everyone

      August 10, 2010 at 7:02 am

      • Polar Panda

        Wow!! Thank you so much for the info. We’d love to camp in the desert! How come I do not see RV in Kuwait?

        August 19, 2010 at 4:58 pm

  6. Hi

    Thank you for sharing your experiences with us. Your photos are cool.

    We have linked your post to our website Dubai to Oman

    August 10, 2010 at 6:27 pm

Leave a Reply

