Avenue Q!

(photosource: dancelife.com.au)

The past two weeks has been very hectic and so little sleep but in a good way I guess! ….. I was able to sneak in another “theatre” time and go to see Avenue Q, a musical that I’ve heard so much about..

Avenue Q is a muppet show … Correction: Avenue Q is an ADULT muppet show that relates to all of us in one way or another…The main character is a graduate who wants to find a job and a place to live and finds out that in real life the only place he can afford is in Avenue Q where he meets other characters each with a different story to tell trying to find their own purpose in life ..

I must say that the show was hilaaaarious and I had some good laughs … I think that every one of us can relate to at least one of the characters and their struggles in some way … for me there was one song in particular that relates to a thought that I often have…it goes like this: (lyrics below by the characters)

KATE MONSTER:
I wish I could go back to college. 
Life was so simple back then.

NICKY:
What would I give to go back and live in a dorm with a meal plan again!

PRINCETON:
I wish I could go back to college.
In college you know who you are. 
You sit in the quad, and think, “Oh my God!
I am totally gonna go far!”

ALL:
How do I go back to college?
I don’t know who I am anymore!

PRINCETON:
I wanna go back to my room and find a message in dry-erase pen on the door!
Ohhh…
I wish I could just drop a class…

NICKY:
Or get into a play…

KATE MONSTER:
Or change my major…

PRINCETON:
Or fuck my T.A.

ALL:
I need an academic advisor to point the way!
We could be…
Sitting in the computer lab,
4 A.M. before the final paper is due,
Cursing the world ’cause I didn’t start sooner,
And seeing the rest of the class there, too!

PRINCETON:
I wish I could go back to college!

ALL:
How do I go back to college?!
AHHHH…

PRINCETON:
I wish I had taken more pictures.

NICKY:
But if I were to go back to college,
Think what a loser I’d be-
I’d walk through the quad,
And think “Oh my God…”

ALL:
“These kids are so much younger than me.”

4 responses

  1. It looks like you are really enjoying yourself in London.😀 Are you a freelance photographer for hire? I need photographs taken of me this fall around Kuwait’s famous landmarks for a project. I need a talented professional who works with models that I can trust. I hope you’re not too expensive, lool.

    August 27, 2010 at 12:02 pm

    • I am enjoying it very much … hehe well if you can wait another year I might be able to say professional!

      August 28, 2010 at 12:23 am

  2. read t about it. Would love to see it though… Hopefully in my next visit to London.
    Have fun😀

    August 28, 2010 at 2:26 pm

    • u should … its funny (adult funny though)

      August 29, 2010 at 1:36 am

Leave a Reply

