Feel the Fear|Do it Anyway

“Feel the fear and do it anyway” I am sure that many of you have heard this phrase before ..

It is no secret for those who read my “passport” that I am not a big fan of flying .. for someone who loves to travel and always looks for the opportunity to jump on a plane (although trains and cars are preferable when possible) you can imagine how stressful it maybe..

I tried to figure out what is it about flying that makes it an unpleasant experience? It’s definitely not a height issue ..could it be the feeling of being unattached up in the air? well if that was the case then I gotta face my fears by doing it!  and boy what an experience was it..Few thousands feet above ground  no strings attached .. I jumped out of a plane! 

It was a great experience, the cold breeze, the sense of freedom , everything felt amazing except for one thing .. It did not change the way I felt about flying!but why?why did this theory failed?

It took me a long time to finally realize that it wasn’t about the friendly skies to begin with ..it was about me, about the need to always be in control .. 

I am not going to bore you about my journey to rediscover myself .. but I want to point out this: our fears are not a random feeling or emotion .. it is worth the time and effort to get to know them and understand them .. at times they hold the key to a happier and more successful life .. but when we fail to understand them then all we can do is Feel the fear and keep doing it anyways.

26 responses

  1. Denya

    I feel the same thing.. Although i do have a fear of heights .. For me i think falling and flying are two different concepts.. I would love to fly like peter pan but not to fall thats wen i feel less of a control..

    I however praise u for sky diving .. Must have been an amazing experience…

    Regards,
    Carrie Bradshaw ;p

    September 6, 2010 at 12:03 am

  2. Denya

    Wow that looks like alot of fun
    For me personally, I would love to fly I’ve always had this dream of flying like peter pan .
    Falling on the other hand, is a whole different story esp since i have a huge fear if hieghts and ur controllibg factor woould be pretty ZERO

    But sky diving wow how did it feel? Didn’t u get scared?

    September 6, 2010 at 12:15 am

    • I did …but thats the point … fear was only in the moments before the jump … once you make it (or in my case got pushed out) its pure enjoyment just like peter pan🙂

      September 6, 2010 at 1:40 am

  3. InQuestOf

    I totally agree..facing our fears does not necessarily make them old news, but tackling what lies beneath these fears does. I don’t want to sound dramatic, but I used to fear death..It took me a while until I discovered that my fear had nothing to do with the reality of death being simply the end, but it everything to do with the idea that I am not yet “ready” to die..knowing the reason behind my fear of death has now made it much more easier on me to revisit my deepest me and open up a transparent dialogue with myself. I need now to get to know what my “real” priorities in life are. The ones that are truly/deeply important to me and not the ones we learned to “memorize” from some external environment factor. Yes I may have not “discovered” these priorities as yet, and true this might take me months or even years to put them into an action plan, but at least I now have the “key” to my box of fears..opening up the box has now become a task..nothing more

    InQuestOf: Finding my “real” priorities in life.

    September 6, 2010 at 1:14 am

  4. Denya

    Coool

    Inshalla ill add it to my bucket list … If i ever got the gutts to do it..

    September 6, 2010 at 2:09 am

  5. I share the same fear and facing it doesnt really make it go away, I too have tried. But even thou it wont go away, its still feels nice when we challenge ourselves and get out of our comfort zone every once in a while, lose the control😉

    September 6, 2010 at 2:17 am

    • it helps to know the source of our fears though

      September 6, 2010 at 2:24 am

  6. Summer

    wow!! looks so scary!! nvr heard of the phrase before btw!

    September 6, 2010 at 3:10 am

    • now you do … always remember it🙂 its useful

      September 6, 2010 at 3:18 am

  7. giggles

    i congratulate you on your courage for doing that if it was me i would be to scared to even think about it, the view looks amazing from up there. i love traveling and i don’t mind flying on a plane wasn’t even afraid of heights. i wasn’t fearing anything until 2 years ago, after that incident every time i get on a plane i feel nervous and very tense. but as you said you do feel the fear but you do it anyway. you are absolutly right because even if you are afraid of something it is not going to stop you from doing something that you love doing.

    September 6, 2010 at 11:49 am

    • and don’t fight ur fears coz it’ll only get worse … I must say that I had a friend who encouraged me🙂

      September 6, 2010 at 1:40 pm

  8. Moody Panties

    I have always loved flying but i had certain fears when it comes airplane crashes😛 but sky diving would be so scary for me, however i would still do it!
    *high five* i appreciate the courage and goin crazy sometimes!

    September 6, 2010 at 1:35 pm

    • *high five* back atya … u should try it … i think planes should have a skydiving kit for emergencies🙂

      September 6, 2010 at 1:38 pm

  9. omg that’s the best thing really bs yuma flying that’s scary :O ur brave man

    September 6, 2010 at 4:15 pm

    • thats the point … to face that feeling of being scared

      September 6, 2010 at 4:53 pm

  10. I really want to do THAT!!!
    Where did you do it?

    September 6, 2010 at 9:14 pm

    • I did it in the US … but in Dubai they had a center that does that too … not sure about Kuwait though

      September 7, 2010 at 1:36 am

  11. mmm interesting then ..

    September 6, 2010 at 10:15 pm

  12. WOAH!! brave mashallah… Unlike me! Would never do it… Would love to hover though and soar in the sky😛

    My little sis did it once and she absolutely LOVED it and is nagging on doing it again.

    Sometimes you do things thinking they will be helping you out in your scheme but they don’t! 3adi… at least you tired, enjoyed and got a new entry for your journal😀

    September 7, 2010 at 12:56 am

    • true … but you know wat … it wasn’t as bad as I had in mind …it felt like floating in air

      September 7, 2010 at 1:33 am

      • ya3ni you recommend it??

        September 7, 2010 at 2:26 pm

      • akeed … bas u need someone to keep you motivated lai bab il6ayara🙂

        September 7, 2010 at 5:08 pm

  13. meme

    i went bungee jumping (belekwet) once, it was scary in the beginning only and the rest was enjoyable.

    If I ever want to sky dive, the states would be my #1 option. Which state/city did you do it in?

    glad you enjoyed it🙂

    September 7, 2010 at 5:00 am

    • am sure it’ll be in every state … i did it in colorado … btw I think bungee jumping would be more scary than skydiving coz your closer to gravity

      September 7, 2010 at 1:28 pm

Leave a Reply

