An overdose of memories

As I looked through the drawers I pulled out a bag full of dusty photographs pre-digital era … I came across some photos from my first few weeks at college and it just took me back to those days when everything felt different.. when I was a totally different person..

I remember the first time In my apartment alone and I didn’t know anyone, I went to a nearby restaurant (Bennigans) and ordered takeaway food .. as I was waiting at the bar for my food, an old drunk guy approached me and was talking gibberish and I was too scared and just kept ignoring .. he threw the stool on the floor then the guys at the bar just threw him out .. when I got my food I didn’t want to go home because I didn’t want him to know where I lived .. then I thought that physically I am a bigger guy than him so why should I be afraid .. so I sprinted back home :) 

That wasn’t the best experience on my first day of independence .. I must say that my entire experience that semester wasn’t what I was expecting.. I’ve been to the USA twice pre-college, once with the family as an 11 years old kid and then in highschool; it was the first time that I ever travelled alone and without my family or part of a school trip .. all my experiences where very positive so I built an expectation of the place I am going to be studying in; the skyscrapers, fighting the crowd to get to uni, the coffee shops, the high-rise apartment …  didn’t know that what we see on tv and experience as tourists was one thing and reality was something else!

I found a very small city (town sorta) .. with no skyscrapers but endless open space and wide roads .. My high-rise luxury apartment was a third floor apartment in a four-story building with a squeaking wooden floors and noisy neighbors .. and down town was a “bus hop” away .. 

That time only one thing kept me going, knowing that I will not be here next semester .. so what happened next ? well lots and lots of memories that will take for ever to tell so I’ll skip to when I truly fell in love with what became my “home” .. that was immediately after a summer course that I took in Miami .. that sunny colourful and fun-loving city has kept me entertained for a month but our relationship just wouldn’t last long and  at that time I saw myself longing for my humble third floor apartment and the freezing cold ..I fell in love again when I finally got to know it.. got to know the life over there .. got to appreciate the nature .. got to enjoy the outdoors .. that place has changed me a lot .. I am not a city boy anymore (although I wouldn’t mind) .. I loved the outdoors .. I loved simplicity .. riding my bike .. hiking .. I became part of this place!

Looking at those photos today just reminded me of the person I was and the person I became ..then a thought came to me: what if I couldn’t take it anymore? what if I gave up and just came back? who would I be today?

The butter:  when life throws challenges at you, you can take them or give up .. your choice will write two entirely different life stories.

7 responses

  1. At every stage of ourlives we become different people depending on the experiences one goes through, and it all depends on how you accept it? Some people are open to the challenges and some just can’t take it and prefer the life they’re currently leading.

    September 7, 2010 at 2:23 pm

  2. i love photos of photos. college is a different experience for so many people, im just so happy i got the opportunity to go and have a blast for 4 years and meet some amazing friends!

    September 7, 2010 at 3:22 pm

  3. yea scary el drunk people but then 5la9 we get used to it but atleast you’re a guy and girls msakeen gotta get away from there ^_^ your memories are tempting me ^_^ thanks for sharing Buds

    September 7, 2010 at 4:08 pm

  4. giggles

    7elwa the butter hehe, yes your last sentence is absolutly correct i agree and those challenges in life are there for a reason as well. in the end what ever choice a person chooses to do is for the better, at first it might be hard as what you have experienced but in the end you will realize that it was worth it and the choice that you took made you the person you are today.

    September 7, 2010 at 4:29 pm

  5. aaahhh memories, lovely one those pictures bring! unfortunately, when i go over the pre-degital era photos, tears come running over my face!

    what we were & with who and now what we’ve become & without who?!

    September 7, 2010 at 6:34 pm

  6. So true!!!
    I always wanted to study in Miami, NYC or LA, but instead out of 3naad I chose Minneapolis (its a small city though), and I have never regreted it. The times I visit those places I actually miss the predictability and the kindness of the midwest.

    The butter: Life’s experiences is what you make of it :p If you choose to embrace everything, you will be happy.

    But I agree with Dalal, some people are can’t take change and would rather live the same way they have always been living.

    September 16, 2010 at 12:37 pm

    • I agree … its ok to accept the life you have if you’re are happy … but most people are just comfortable but not necessarily happy ..

      September 16, 2010 at 7:55 pm

Leave a Reply

