It’s Time

(photosource: of me taken by friend)

I am not a person that gets excited about my birthday or even care much about getting older .. but for some reason this one was different from all other birthdays .. 

I popped in my life’s video tape (as they say although in this age it’s more like a Blue ray) and had a look at what my life’s journey had been like .. I’ve been through highs and lows, ups and downs, depressed and happy, thin and  fat and so many negatives and positives .. nothing that an average human being doesn’t go through in life… what I really found to be satisfying (in my own way) is that there’s so much that I don’t remember .. things that I am reminded of by stories or photos or a mere distant memory that doesn’t tell me much .. and I say satisfying since it’s mostly the memories that people spend time to let go of and move on from ..

Recalling my past made me understand why I am the ‘me’ now .. and showed me how blessed I’ve been even when I never realized it.. we tend to make tons of mistakes as we move on in life but we never understand how some of those mistakes have been blessings to our life and made us grow and change ourselves to be better .. I used to fear ‘failure’, now I know that failure is not about the mistakes you make but the times you never took the risk .. failure is about taking comfort in a life knowing that it’s not the life you’re meant to have .. failure is not trying new things in life and not completing it , it’s not trying in the first place .. 

Looking back at my life I realized that I had a wonderful journey unlike other journeys .. I’ve seen a lot out of this world and I’ve met people in my life .. some that I want to keep and others that I want to let go .. but all that made me the ‘me’ today

I also realized that life is full of opportunities and new starting points .. people get stuck in their daily routines and often forget their dreams so life throws new year, birthdays, anniversaries even funerals to constantly remind us to relive our dreams .. 

Yes we (I) promise ourselves every time to change to the better.. we make new year resolutions or a list after Ramadan to be more spiritual or a promise after birthdays to change .. some of us succeed in achieving them and others fail at times .. but then again that’s why we have constant reminders because what is life if we don’t always have a new hope, faith and a new promise.. when we believe that “this time it’s different”..

Well, I’ve always been a dreamer .. and although I don’t always admit or realize it .. I’ve achieved a lot of my dreams .. 

Now I am living my last year in my twenties .. and although I believe that thirties and forties and every other -ties can be a great time to follow your dreams and reinvent yourself .. to me I wanted this to be my motivation .. I wanted to get a big start on the things that I’ve been holding on and putting off.. and I must say that I am having a great start and hope to continue to the better .. 

One of the things I am VERY excited  about is starting tomorrow..I am joining the 8thwave of the 3 club experience .. I am looking forward to this and hoping that It’ll be just the change I’ve been looking for .. Biking and swimming are two things that I enjoy doing (not so excited about running though ;p ) ..

So life is full of exciting things even with all the complaining we do and the depression we go through (accept them and move on) .. always belive that ‘It’s Time’ now, no matter how many times you’ve said it before … keep on believing!

18 responses

  1. Wishing you a very happy 29th birthday Q8tb.😀 May all of your dreams come true. Especially new and exciting places to travel, meet new friends and opportunities to take photographs. This is a lovely post. Thanks for the inspiration. xoxo

    October 2, 2010 at 11:36 am

    • UW … thanks (btw my birthday actualy was mid Aug ..🙂 )

      October 2, 2010 at 1:59 pm

  2. Very well written… you’re not only talking about yourself but about every single one us!
    I wish you a very Happy Birthday and all the Best on the new journey you’re starting🙂

    October 2, 2010 at 12:25 pm

  3. I believe in what you said IT’S TIME🙂 May allah grant all your wishes inshalla! thanks for the great post Buds , To Tomorrows😀

    October 2, 2010 at 2:30 pm

  4. alban

    “People get stuck in their daily routines and often forget their dreams so life throws new year, birthdays, anniversaries even funerals to constantly remind us to relive our dreams ”

    I think I’m going to quote that😀

    October 2, 2010 at 3:01 pm

  5. i hope that u have more ups than downs😀
    and this snapshot is amazing , reminds me of jordan , wadi rum , we went climbing and the view was AWESOME , i gotta go find those pictures😀

    October 2, 2010 at 4:28 pm

    • my friend snapped it after climbing a sandune in the states..

      October 2, 2010 at 8:36 pm

  6. giggles

    happy be-lated birthday o kil 3am wenta ib 5air, inshala etkon sena 7elwa 3alayk and i wish you all the best of luck o allah e7ageglik umneyatik inshala.

    October 2, 2010 at 6:01 pm

  7. wishing you a belated BirthDay🙂

    October 3, 2010 at 8:59 am

  8. Moody Panties

    It might be abit late, but happy birthday buddy, hope you had a great one😀

    October 3, 2010 at 9:10 am

  9. lovely lovely writing, mshallah🙂

    what is it ur starting? i have no clue of what u said😦

    October 3, 2010 at 12:46 pm

Leave a Reply

